Iowa's Oldest Labor Day Celebration, Graettinger, Iowa.

Previous Slide
Next Slide
labor day

Today, Graettinger has the distinction of observing a continuous Labor Day Celebration from 1896 to the present.

The first Labor Day Celebration was in 1896 on the farm of Mr. A.A. Wells and his son, Carl. This first picnic was sponsored by the Farmers' Institute according to the September 4, 1899 edition of the Graettinger Times.

The Farmers' Institute Picnic was changed to the Graettinger Labor Day Celebration, held in town on September 4, 1913, celebration. A carnival atmosphere now prevailed.

The celebrations continued with good programs and order up to the present. The men and women of the Graettinger Labor Day Committee are to be commended for their loyal, dedicated, and excellent work.

Labor Day Contacts

Chairmen:

JR Brown: jrjbrown@rvtc.net

Roger Schmitt: lefty1@rvtc.net

Antique Tractor Pull & Hot Rod Lawn Mower Pull:

Charlie Thiel: cthiel@yourstarnet.net

Bean Bag Tourney:

Lucas/Kendra Hough: 712-859-3511 or lhough@gt.ratitans.org

Shooting Clays:

Shamus Brown: 515-450-7554 or brown.shamus@gmail.com

FFA Grain & Flower Show:

Tessa Meyer: tmeyer@gt.ratitans.org

Parade:

Teaner Hoffman: glabordayparade@yahoo.com

Variety Show

Angie Sorbo: asorbo@epsbuildings.com

Volleyball Tourney:

Stacy Ebel: sebel@epsbuildings.com

5K/Fun Run/Walk:

Trudy Manwarren: 712-859-3910